Looking up

Thanks for the wonderful support and comments on my most recent psychosis. Truly, my decision is based purely on self betterment. Leave it to me to get all bent out of shape about good things happening. Blow up my house, lose my job, or girlfriend leaving, no sweat. I can deal. Make a choice on how to obtain a goal that has been just within my reach, you might as well tell me my dog died. It’s like what your parents would say to you when you broke something back in the day, “we just can’t have nice things!”

Moral of the story, is things will work themselves out and I just need to let it go. I am very thankful I have people cheering for me and especially thankful to have someone that cares enough to listen to my crazy and not judge. Good lookin’ y’all, good lookin!

For some reason the 3 songs below have been popping up in my IPod rotation quite a bit and eerily explains my life at this point:

Hilltop Hoods “Breathe”

In life, we struggle as individuals,
A fine line between a cliché saying and something original,
As if in death we left something residual,
Behind to mark our time up in this pitiful,
Existence and I’m a man of many issues,
If I ever dissed you, no disrespect I never wished to,
Hold a grudge the stress makes me act like this,
The day I get it off my chest I won’t write tracks like this,
But I’ll be bitter on them when all is done and is forgotten,
Cos it’s easier to sit and complain than fix the problem,
But the power of speech endowers our beliefs,
With sour defeats, man nothing is out of reach,
Got plenty to answer for, all do is answered back,
Done a thousand things I regret, apologize for none of that,
So you get back what you put in no regrets,
And keep on until they know your sweat, you only get.

Chorus
(We get)One chance, so I live for the moment,
I’m just one man what I wouldn’t give for this moment,
We got one world; still we take it in stride,
In this one life we stand still waiting to die,
(We get)One chance, so I live for the moment,
I’m just one man what I wouldn’t give for this moment,
We got one world; still we take it in stride,
In this one life we stand still waiting to die.
Now breathe in…

Now if life is what you make it it’s time to build,
Man I’m for real aint no telling what this life will yield,
I’m a career man, cos I career off any path,
That would lead me to a start of financial gains I’m scarred,
We learn from our mistakes, that makes me a scholar on,
Being a walking talking fuck up and a better man for being wrong,
I’m humble and loyal, my friendships are honored,
A mans success aint measured by the depths of his pocket,
I give good advice but never follow it, what’s left for me?
I’m a hypocrite and if I weren’t I’d be a success story,
View this wide world through a narrow gaze, these harrowed days,
Seen to many men end in a shallow grave,
I guess it’s better to have loved and to lost, than never stumbled across,
The gift of knowing you what ever the fucking cost,
To put it in perspective and under my vision,
This world is superficial; I’m done with others opinions.

Gnarles Barkley “Who Cares”

Basically I’m complicated
I have a hard time taking the easy way
I wouldn’t call it schizophrenia
But I’ll be at least 2 people today

If that’s okay

And I can go on and on and on… but who cares?

It’s deep how you can be so shallow
And I’m afraid cause I have no fear
And I didn’t believe in magic
Until I watched you disappear

I wish you where here

And I can go on and on and on… but who cares?

You see, everybody is somebody
But nobody wants to be themselves
and If I ever wanted to understand me
I’ll have to talk to someone else

Cause every little bit helps

And I can go on and on and on… but who cares?

Feels like… the surreal life
But it’s still nice
Wish I could live twice
but I still might
if these bones heal right
I see a little light
though it’s still night

Feels like… surreal like
But its still nice
Wish I could live twice
but I still might
if these bones heal right
I see a little light
though it’s still night

Kruder and Dorfmeister “Bug Powder Dust”

I always hit the tape with the rough road styles
You heard the psychdelic and ya came from miles
Keep my rhymes thick like a Guinness brew
So you could call me black and tan when I’m a wreckin’ a crew
I’m like Bill Lee writing when he’s in Tangiers
And now I’m on a soul safari with my Beatnik peers
Analog reel and a little distortion
Smokin’ on somethin’ s’you could say I’m scorchin’
I never been the type to brag but beware
I’ll make a man burn his draft card like it was hair
Send ya up the river like you lookin’ for Kurtz
I got the mugwhump jism up in every verse

I always hit the apple when I’m going to shoot
So you can call me William Tell or Agent Cooper to boot
Mr. Mojo Risin’ on the case again
So tell your mother and your sister and your sister’s friends
Like an exterminator running low on dust
I’m bug powder itchin’ and I can’t be trust
Interzone trippin’ and I’m off to Annexia
I gotta get a typewriter that’s sexier
My name is Justin and that’s all that’s it
And I’ll be spittin’ rhymes wicked like it ain’t for this shit
Houses of the Holy like Jimmy Page
But the song remains the same so I’m stuck in a rage
Just like Jane when she’s going to Spain
I think I’m going away tomorrow, just a fool in the rain
Light up the candles and bless the room
I’m paranoid, snow blind, just a black meat fool

Never been a fake and I’m never phony
I got more flavour than a packet of macaroni
Rock drippin’ from my every vowel
I’ve got the soul of the sixties like Ginsberg’s Howl
Shootin’ mad ball and I’m always jukin’
Take you to the hole and I’m surely hoopin’
Top of the pops like the Lulu’s show
I’ll take a walk on Abbey Road with my shoes of soul
I got a splinter though, damn, you know man it hurt
I got a Vegemite sandwich from Men at Work
I keep minds in line, but time sublimes,
So when you search you find something like a gold mine
A psychadelic meanderings in the poem
I got a patter, patter anyplace that I roam
Waiting for the sun on a Spanish caravan
Solar eclipse and I’m feeling like starin’ man

Who’s that man in the windowpane
Got somethin’ on his tongue and it’s startin’ to stain
Sho’ nuff equip so wop n’get down
Step up on my ladder and you’ll get beat down
Hash bar style so I’m singin’ day glow
Wakin’ up the dead like Serpent and the Rainbow
Jeff Spicoli roll me another hay
The Fish that Saved Pittsburgh with Dr. J
Shockin’ your ass like a faulty vibrator
Hear me now, but you’ll probably get the vibe later
Who knows where the wicked wind blows
Que sera sera just leave it alone
Great space coaster toast up the town ?????
Makin’ midgets with my man Dr. Shrinker
Pass the hookah, throw down the pillows
Cloth on the ceiling, blow rings that billow
Kick off the shoes and relax your feet
Now roll up your sleeves for this lyrical treat

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Looking up

  1. Just A Girl

    Oh hey thanks, now my Pandora plays Hilltop Hoods like, every 3rd song so that’s your fault.

    Just wait until our road trip…

  2. k8

    Okay. There’s some artists on here that I do not recognize. Thanks for the youtube suggestions… Hahaha!

    Go get ya some!

  3. tejasflood

    “And I didn’t believe in magic
    Until I watched you disappear”

    Nice. No sarcasm.

    One of my favorite lines ever!

  4. Pingback: Its time to get down with the get down « The Gospel of JP

  5. Pingback: Its time to get down with the get down

Leave a Reply

