Who would play you?

A friend of mine asked me a few days ago, if a movie was made about your life, who would they get to play you? This got me thinking a bit about this and I came to the conclusion that a movie would not represent my life. A t.v. show would be a better representation. Then I thought, well instead of who would play me, what characters now most represent my personality? I told him this evolution of thought and he then asked, “okay, what character now bests represents you?” Funny thing is, like the voices in my head I don’t think one depiction could best portray me. So, below are 3 examples of my “personality characters.”

  • Rescue Me’s “Tommy Gavin”- A dysfunctional Irish firefighter that sees the ghosts of former family member and patients. He is the guy always willing to do what needs to be done in an emergency situation and will always bail out his fellow crew. It is because of this that his personal life suffers greatly.Personal tragedy has molded him, but does not define him. His relationship with the recurring women in his life could be defined as masochistic.                                              200px-Tommy-badass
  • Scrub’s “Dr. Perry Cox”- A well educated Irish Chief of Medicine, who’s ego could engulf the entire hospital building. Sarcastic, narcissistic, and quick witted with his own brand of philosophy dubbed “coxian” He goes for the strong willed women that have a dysfunction to match his. Though his sister is uber religious, Perry is a harden atheist. Seen making illogical and self destructive choices to retain a self delusional image. Will go on long winded rants about the things he hates. Often accused of drinking too much and having a general disdain for humanity, Perry shows that he is superior at his job and will go the extra mile to do right by his patients.200px-Drcox_scrubs
  • King of Queen’s “Doug Heffernan”-Is a pretty mellow average guy who enjoys his food. Has a smoking hot wife that loves him, even though he is “chubby.” Always surrounded by a core group of interesting and diverse friends, Doug is the ring leader of the group. He is portrayed to be average or slacker at work, he is very dedicated while there and consistently out performs his fellow employees. He has ambitions of owning his own sandwich shop and consistently battles with his crazy live in father-in-law. images

What t.v. or movie character would you be?

18 Comments

Filed under Non-Sense

18 responses to “Who would play you?

  1. Oh man…when I think of this question I always think about who I would want to LOOK like. That isn’t really the point. I am gonna say Gina Gershon; dirty, kinda naughty, but really smart and cool.

    That would be a good fit for you.

  2. liferehab

    No question about it – Meredith Grey. I have inappropriate sex with inappropriate men when I’m not in a drama filled relationship with McDreamy. Oh, and I like to drink.

    This sounds all too familiar!

  3. i was actually having this discussion a few weeks ago, too. i still haven’t figured out the right person but when i do i’ll probably blog about it.

    and i freaking love doug heffernan in the worst way. this is a sign, JP.

    High five!

  4. You know who would play me? Josh Radnor as Ted Mosby in How I Met Your Mother. He’s me.

    Strong work sir, strong work.

  5. This says a great deal about you.

    I would say that, if possible, Marilyn Monroe would play me in my life story.

    Marilyn huh. That says a lot about you too.

  6. f.B

    I’d have to be a blend of people too. A little Ted Mosby, a little Ralph Wiggum from the Simpsons and a little “anything Don Cheadle has ever done” because that dude is my hero.

    Don Cheadle has nothing on you bro!

  7. Probably Mr. Kotter, but with a severe meth addiction.

    I can see Mr. Kotter ripping apart a VCR in the moon light. Nice.

  8. For me:

    Looks – E.T.

    Brains – Corky from life goes on

    Personality – Anybody from a Quintin Terantino movie.

    I’m SUCH a winner!

    You so win with that one!

  9. PQ

    Combination of Natalie Portman, Zooey Deschanel & Phoebe from Friends.

    Hmm, interesting.

  10. Just A Girl

    I’m with Mandy – I LOVE Doug. Actually I just like Kevin James in general. I think he’s totally hot. Like, in Hitch? Everyone is all “Ooh Will Smith!” And I’m like “ZOMG KEVIN JAMES!”

    Yeah. Clearly I should not get started on that. 😀

    As for who would play me…hmm…I’ll have to think. Is there a character who is generally really laid back as far as attitude but sometimes gets a little manic in action? And who’s frustrated with herself but very forgiving of others’ faults? Dunno. Oh, and someone hot. I want a hot character.

    Umm, yea, we should discuss Kevin.
    You can be anyone you want!

  11. k8

    Meg Ryan. But only because when I was younger, every time she cut her hair, I cut mine the exact same way.

    Does that include the orgasm in the deli as well?

  12. I love this! And I love Kevin James and the regular guy thing. And because I require time to put together my perfect blend, I will be stealing this and doing a post on it.

    I know you’re promised to Just a Girl, but my harmless internet crush on you lives on.

    Awesome! Do it up and link back.

    Your crush is accepted and cherished!

  13. Can I be the JD to your Doctor Cox?

    Of you can Nancy!

  14. oh dear god, that’s a hard question… probably Grace from Saving Grace, though she gets way more sex than I do and I don’t drink quite as much (there’s a correlation there, I’m sure…), but I got the mess part down. I’d like to be a Fiona, from Burn Notice, however, so I could act on my impulse to blow shit up. And others would probably cast me as Peggy, from Mad Men – sweet, hard working and slightly clueless…

    BTW, Tommy Gavin is such a good choice, as is Dennis Leary. Yum.

  15. Pingback: i would play the fool « the Change I Wish to See

  16. Brad Pitt.

    Just because we look so much alike.

    That, and I’m banging Angelina Jolie.

    You inglorious bastard, you. High five your wife for me.

  17. Hmmm, I want to say Scarlett Johansson, because in my delusional mind we look alike, but in reality I may have to go with David Spade or this fifteen year-old from the Harry Potter movies: http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2804652288/nm2121541

    Le sigh.

    You are awesome!

  18. TOO freaking funny that you chose Cox… because me? Sarah Chalke. Not how she looks, but EXACTLY how she acts on that show.

    Look here Barbie! HAHAHAA! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

